The NSW Government has appointed four new Commissioners to the state’s Independent Planning Commission.

Mr Terry Bailey, Dr Sheridan Coakes, Ms Juliet Grant and Mr Tony McAvoy SC have commenced three-year terms with the Commission this week. Four current Commissioners – Professor Chris Fell AO, Ms Wendy Lewin, Mr Adrian Pilton and Mr Chris Wilson – have been reappointed for second three-year terms.

Meanwhile, six experienced Commissioners have completed their maximum six-year term with the Commission: Mr Ross Carter, Mr John Hann, Mr Andrew Hutton, Ms Ilona Millar, Mr Steve O’Connor and Professor Zada Lipman.

The Commission now has 18 members responsible for determining complex and contentious State significant development applications and providing advice to government on other planning matters.

Chair of the Commission, Professor Mary O’Kane, welcomed the new Commission members, while paying tribute to the service of her departing colleagues.

“The new Commissioners as a group will bring strong decision-making skills and experience to the IPC, while individually they are incredibly well versed in a diverse range of fields – such as planning law, environment and heritage, aboriginal cultural heritage and resource assessment,” Professor O’Kane said.

“In welcoming our new Commissioners, I’d also like to acknowledge and thank Ross, John, Andrew, Ilona, Steve and Zada for their commitment and valuable contribution to the Commission over six years.

“The planning system has benefited enormously from their expertise and experience, and their independent and reasoned consideration of the cases before them,” Professor O’Kane said.

Meanwhile, the Commission has also announced a new-look Mining and Petroleum Gateway Panel.

The seven new members of the Panel, which is a subcommittee of the Commission, are:

  • Professor Neal Menzies (Panel Chair)
  • Professor Ian Anderson
  • Emeritus Professor Joan Esterle
  • Dr Clinton Foster PSM
  • Mr Hugh Middlemis
  • Dr Catherine Moore
  • Dr Glen Walker

The principal role of the Panel is to assess the agricultural impacts of state significant mining or coal seam gas proposals located on Strategic Agricultural Land before a development application is lodged.